Your % Allotment. A Self- Approximation

self identity, who am I, uniqueness
This is “ME”

The “WHO” that you are? …

Creative, adorable, thoughtful, hilarious, youthful, day dreamer, sweet, systematic, patient, independent, adventurous, zealous, enduring, observant, challenging, energetic, joyful, optimistic, loyal, great, loving mother, brave, honest, social worker, God-fearing, motherly, organized, active, never easily gives up, joker, committed, beloved father, thinker, adventurous, wonderful, ambitious, sensitive, religious, cry baby, emotional, athletic, notorious, interactive, eco-lover, caring, responsible, extra hard-worker, always “on-the-go”, nice, emphatic,  nursing,  approachable, friendly, fun-loving, excited, kind, jolly, happy, pretty, multi-tasker, youth-lover, nice, talented, listener, intelligent, dreamer, believer, awesome, listener, realistic, good looking, special, explorer, willing to learn, influential.

Can you still pick the character that you are — as you said “you were” when you did your meaningful introduction?

YOU ARE UNIQUE … YES, YOU ARE! — but it’s never easy proving so, unless you find some other means  which would be of great help.

1.  Try LISTING DOWN  your NEEDS.

2.  Draw an “AKO symbol and allocate a certain percentage: How many % of YOU are these needs?

3.  Now, what about your BLESSINGS? Make a list of it too.

5.  How many % of YOU are those blessings?

6.  Now, try to do some “SELF-CHECK-POINT”!

How did you use your percentages? Anything else left? Without having to be told, haven’t you thought of allotting some of what you have for SHARING?  What then can you GIVE? How many % of YOU can you GIVE?

7.  What are you going to do now IF NOTHING IS LEFT?  What could be some points of realization here?

Don’t feel bad about the allotments which you’ve been somehow unmindful about.  YOUR REALIZATIONS would tell about the person that you are.

You may be “caught un-aware” along the way — just like going through LIFE — which is said to be “like a box of chocolates: you’ll never know what you will get” [Forest Gump] — but your reactions each time you get something which is not really your choice will SPEAK A LOT OF WHO YOU ARE!

 

 

15 thoughts on “Your % Allotment. A Self- Approximation”

  1. I remember this. I primarily thought everything that I need. Not knowing I was only thinking of myself. It made me realize how self-centered I am. I did not think that I should leave “some” for others by means of sharing. In fact, it made me understand that I should share even more. As a son, a brother, a friend, a classmate, a teacher and many other roles in life, I should have been more sensitive on what I can give rather than what I can receive or what I want. I realized, my tasks are important and that people look up to me and expect a lot from me. So, I should be a “sharer” more. I should “give” more. I should “offer” more. I should “provide” more. I realized, when I do these things, I am fulfilling “ME”. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can say that 99% of good qualities that a person has is on me. I can’t enumerate those those but I believe that in my self this good qualities exist on me. No regrets and no doubts.
    Yes, we are unique in our own special way. God created us equally but different in some aspect.
    I prepared some guidelines by making AKO to discover what’s in me.
    1. Needs: Freedom, wisdom, food, friends, good health, and travel.
    2. I lavel these as 40% as my entire needs.
    3. Blessings: stable job, friends, good family relationship, good health.
    4. 40% of these are in me.
    5. Self check-point.
    I used my percentages by adding the totality of my needs and the totality of my blessings and then i give a 10 % for sharing because being son of God, we should help and share to each other. ‘no man is an island’. We should try to give our hands eventhough we are also in need. It is better to give than to recieve as they said.
    To become a perfect creature is impossible to achieve, we struggling for it sometimes. We are always encountering difficulties but it doesn’t mean that we are going to give up. All the hardship that we give and all the storm that we’d experienced proves that our objective in life has never that far. Yes we are all sinners, committing mistakes. So many pains that I have been encountered and I believe that these experience will make me strong to pursue my journey With the guidance of our Lord.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Self realization is the moral or this activity
    “It connotes selflessness, we are overwhelm by the blessings that we received and consummated by our necessities to survive that is why we overlooked the virtue of sharing as part of our personal perspective”.

    I live in a fast pace life, I have a lot of achievements and struggles that makes me a very competitive working woman. I vested most of my time in the office unintentionally I overlooked the activities of my children which regression in terms of learning took place. It’s a bit devastating on my part, I am extending help to less privilege people by supporting my company’s regular community service but failed to monitor my children’s growth. “Shame on me”. After our school activity I came to a self-actualization, realizing that providing the needs of my family is not enough to be called love. From this class I learn the other spelling of love is T I M E.

    Like

  4. In life there are times that i still complain to God about life, forgetting that i am truly blessed. God created us in his own image because he loves us, he wants the best for us and he want us to be happy. He gave us different qualities,skills, talents, knowledge and other things that will help us to lived a comfortable life and to survived the different challenges in our life which also in turn will make us grow maturely/ stronger. With this, He also wants us to share his gifts with other people who needs our help. In this topic, i realized that instead of complaining what i don’t have I should count first the abundant blessing that God had given me because there are other people whose suffering more dilemmas in their life. All of us has its own mission in life that we must fulfill. That 100% of my totality must be spent wisely or should be evenly distributed for myself, for my family, friends, pupils, neighbors, and other people who will be needing my help. Its indeed true that no one is perfect but we should try to be at least ideal.

    Like

  5. Hi mam gail, I just want to share this quotes to you and to everyone.

    “A strong man cannot help a weaker unless the weaker is willing to be helped, and even then the weak man must become strong of himself; he must, by his own efforts, develop the strength which he admires in another. None but himself can alter his condition.”
    ― James Allen, As a Man Thinketh

    “Dare to dream! If you did not have the capability to make your wildest wishes come true, your mind would not have the capacity to conjure such ideas in the first place. There is no limitation on what you can potentially achieve, except for the limitation you choose to impose on your own imagination. What you believe to be possible will always come to pass – to the extent that you deem it possible. It really is as simple as that.”
    ― Anthon St. Maarten

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for sharing this Ma’am Juvy!
      True, we always are, our own sculptor! the way we approximate our strength is always a reflection of how much we dared to dream despite some limitations because we deemed it possible to overcome some weaknesses. 🙂

      Like

  6. I remember this activity with Ma’am Gail; you encourage us to stand up in front of everybody to share our thoughts about how many percent we can to give.
    This is the exact words I shared during that time. I still kept the paper that I wrote my thoughts about the activity.
    I realized that at the beginning of the activity the biggest percentage is allotted for needs and at the middle of the activity we don’t have to give anymore but there are still more that I can give. Honestly speaking, every day we wake up to give. Give love to our family, love to the people around us, knowledge and wisdom to our children, students and colleagues. Giving a part of us to everyone, a simple act of smiling to a stranger we met will bring positive thought or energy to a person, we may not know that smile that we give can bring him/her positive outlook in whatever problem or stress he/she is going to. That our blessings is always there, we just need to open our eyes to see it. Each waking day is a blessing. How can we see our blessings? Answer by counting our needs as our blessings.

    Like

  7. as i remember… this activity really made me think a lot… yes, as people really demand everything without even thinking of others needs… this made me also realized that in ones life you always have to find time for everything and put things in proper place and organize… you don’t need to focus only on one part of your life, but you have to looked at the WHOLE part of being a human… not only the positive or negative aspects that happen but TRY TO THINK WHAT ARE THE THINGS YOU CAN DO TO COPE WITH YOUR NEEDS AT THE SAME TIME ACHIEVING YOUR BLESSINGS AND NEVER FORGET TO SHARE IT WITH OTHERS…=)

    Like

  8. When I was first asked to give percentages of the thinggs i need, and the blessing I am getting, it was projected that I am receiving a lot of blessings; from my current work and how I acquired it, from the processes, the additional units, the LET exam, the application, from my skills that actually helped me personally on all the current areas of my life, from my finances, altough I am not rich, I am able to create my own financial strategies to manage financial loss, from my current health, not getting serious sickness and still strong and not being able to come to work, and from the circle of friends I currently have where we could support each other. I have needs but the blessings are greater. All this was thought, but, I never get to rate the percentage that I was giving, that I am able to share, just because it was not asked to? I was not aware, not even concerend at first. But then, I was made to think that even though I am nit so blessed financially, I am still able to give and share to others through my services and time. It made me aware this time that even though I give, still, I should take that into account that my blessing is not what I should be thankful of, I am blessed for a reason, and that reason is for me to give it back to the Lord by sharing to others! For without Him, nothing is possible!

    To God be all the glory!

    Jai Javier
    – Vergel Jairus J. Emas

    Like

  9. When I was first asked to give percentages of the thinggs i need, and the blessing I am getting, it was projected that I am receiving a lot of blessings; from my current work and how I acquired it, from the processes, the additional units, the LET exam, the application, from my skills that actually helped me personally on all the current areas of my life, from my finances, altough I am not rich, I am able to create my own financial strategies to manage financial loss, from my current health, not getting serious sickness and still strong and not being able to come to work, and from the circle of friends I currently have where we could support each other. I have needs but the blessings are greater. All this was thought, but, I never get to rate the percentage that I was giving, that I am able to share, just because it was not asked to? I was not aware, not even concerend at first. But then, I was made to think that even though I am nit so blessed financially, I am still able to give and share to others through my services and time. It made me aware this time that even though I give, still, I should take that into account that my blessing is not what I should be thankful of, I am blessed for a reason, and that reason is for me to give it back to the Lord by sharing to others! For without Him, nothing is possible!

    To God be all the glory!

    Jai Javier
    – Vergel Jairus J. Emas

    Resending..

    Like

  10. I realized that I can always give or share what I have to others because I’am so blessed.
    Make yourself available for your love ones, balance life for what matter most to you..
    Glorified God, serve people this makes your life more meaningful and closer to God.

    Like

Tell me what you think about this

