Interconnectedness!

Educational Management, School Plant, Property Management, University of Makati, School of Tomorrow
Why Care for something which is not yours?

Who would GET INTERESTED if after all the “claiming for what belongs to us”, we would soon end up shrugging our shoulders that we don’t really own anything at all?

Silly, right?

BUT here we are, in this course on Management!

Within the whole Semester, we would be talking about “managing” School Plant and Property — which isn’t OURS!

BUT WHY?

SURELY, you wouldn’t be wasting your time, thriving for the 18 Saturdays of your life,  only to end-up not knowing your PURPOSE! — not really that you don’t have a choice than to be here because you could actually mention all the reasons in the world to justify your every absence in class! [*grins*]

SO THEN — WHY still DEAL ON MANAGEMENT besides any point?

Why would you care for something which is NOT YOURS?

What would it take for you to be able to DO IT WELL?

What is there to LOOK FORWARD TO after all?

28 thoughts on “Interconnectedness!”

  1. Thank you Ma’am Gail for making me realize that everything here on earth are just temporary and everything may come to an end. As a teacher, I learn that i need to do all the best i can to give quality education to my students. I know that i am not a perfect teacher to do this but in my own little way, i know that i can do it with the guidance of the Almighty Father.Love my profession as i Love myself and as i love my students. Caring my students as i care myself.They are not mine but they are entrusted to me. Touching their lives to make their dreams come into reality.

    Like

  2. Feeling lucky enough to be belong in the class with heart. Thank you Mam Gail for making us reflect in every discussion we had every saturday. Hearing the word INTERCONNECTEDNESS in EDM516 class made me think the movie AVATAR. The meaning of INTERCONNECTEDNESS was given definition in this movie. One of the focus is the interconnectedness of life. Biologically we are really interdependent in every living and non living things in this world. To exploit one aspect of can have a negative affect in other aspect of life. As a teacher, we play a big role to take care of all the things entrusted to us not only the tangibles but also the intangible ones. We must not care only the school but everything inside of it, the main reason why we have and why we are in the school “THE LEARNER”.

    Like

  3. Thank You Ma’m Gail, for making me realized my purpose and how important I am inside the school. Thinking that all the valuable assists of the school as well as the students are not really “MINE”. Perhaps..students would see me irritating if now and then.. I’m telling them “Clean as you go”,”Arranged the chairs/tables after you eat your meals”., with my own little way I can teach them the sense of being “Responsible”.At the end of the day… When those teachers/students waved their hands for goodbye and say thank you with a smile on their lips….I know …I served my PURPOSE for inspiring and touching their lives.

    Like

  4. Thank You Ma’m Gail, for making me realized my purpose, how important am I inside the school.Thinking that all the valuable assets of the school as well as the students are not really “MINE”.Perhaps…, students might see me irritating when I told them “clean as you go”,when they’re inside the canteen,arranged the tables and chairs after eating their meals, with my own little way I can teach them the sense of being “RESPONSIBLE”.At the end of the day… when those students and teachers waved their hands for goodbye and say thank you with a smile on their lips….I know I served my “PURPOSE” for inspiring and touching their lives.

    Like

  5. The moment you enter the education department and the workplace, being IN-CHARGE is the beginning of your job especially the students. When a student opens up his mouth and voices out every problem that he/she has, whether you like it or not, you are in. The same applies to all that’s inside the workplace, everything is under your care. We have a huge responsibility to take care of it so that at the end of the day, you are able to sleep well because you know that you’ve done your part as a “GUARDIAN” of all that belongs to your domain.

    Like

  6. Thank you po Ma’am Gail for the fruitful discussion we had last time. I appreciate this kind of activity.This simple reflection made me realize how wonderful my purpose in life is and that led me to the following ideas:
    It is inevitable to not think of self, especially when you see people screaming ‘identity’ or ‘uniqueness’. Since this becomes a rampant phenomenon, it greatly affects how one deals with worldly affairs using selfishness as a tool. This time, let’s deviate. Think it over. Why not try to alter the route and rather expand our perspective about the intricate details of the world and know how, we, individuals, would actually be rooting on one bond.
    We were made out of love, made with love and made thru love. It’s the mechanism that God used to maintain our ties with one another. That’s why I believe, this is the simplest response to the question why should I care to something which is not mine or someone I do not know. Yet many still forget to understand. Remember, all things serve a purpose. Let’s try to be vigilant on this so that our actions will be guided.
    We may have variety of personality, may be positive or negative. But don’t let these negative traits lead you away from good. Instead, let these be our reasons that will direct us to the right way of dealing matters at hand.

    Like

  7. I am so blessed to be part of your class. I am learning a lot 🙂

    I am reminded of this verses –

    Luke 16:10-12 ISV
    Whoever is faithful with very little is also faithful with a lot, and whoever is dishonest with very little is also dishonest with a lot.

    So if you haven’t been faithful with unrighteous wealth, who will trust you with true wealth?

    And if you haven’t been faithful with what belongs to foreigners, who will give you what is your own?

    Matthew 25:21
    “His master told him, ‘Well done, good and trustworthy servant! Since you’ve been trustworthy with a small amount, I’ll put you in charge of a large amount. Come and share your master’s joy!’’

    Conclusion: Management involves stewardship and blessings 🙂

    Like

  8. I am so blessed to be part of your class. I am learning a lot 🙂

    I am reminded of these verses –

    Luke 16:10-12 ISV
    Whoever is faithful with very little is also faithful with a lot, and whoever is dishonest with very little is also dishonest with a lot.

    So if you haven’t been faithful with unrighteous wealth, who will trust you with true wealth?

    And if you haven’t been faithful with what belongs to foreigners, who will give you what is your own?

    Matthew 25:21
    “His master told him, ‘Well done, good and trustworthy servant! Since you’ve been trustworthy with a small amount, I’ll put you in charge of a large amount. Come and share your master’s joy!’’

    Conclusion: Management involves stewardship and blessings 🙂

    Like

  9. Hi mam Gail, first I’d like you to know how grateful I am to be one of your students. I really like the way you set such a rejuvenating first day of class’s activity – simple yet so meaningful. That very first activity made me admire you for showing so much value on the person’s character formation. Truly, a lot of students pursuing graduate degree can become “Intellectually Giant” but sadly some also forget that they should also nourish an equally important aspect of their being – their relationship with God. It gave me time to reflect and thoroughly examine myself, what symbol can I be? Honestly, it took me a while before I was able to think of a thing that could represent me as a person. It was also during that moment when I realized that I have to humble myself. After all, it’s not what you have achieved that will matter, it’s the gift of person you became to others.
    I used a JAR to represent myself… A jar filled with golf balls, pebbles, sand and “beer”. The golf balls represent my Family, the pebbles represent my career and all other work related activities, the sand represent my friends and lastly, beer represents the Holy Spirit. Each has its own place in the jar and in order for the jar to contain all of them, they have to be placed into it according to their degree of significance. Otherwise, there will be no room for some of them. This is a clear parody of what goes on in my life, I make sure that I always have room for the people and things that matter to me. I take care of the “golf balls” first because they are my priorities and yes, they are critical to my happiness. And the beer?! It’s the Spirit that fill up the empty space within.
    Oh! I miss attending retreats…good thing we have a time to reflect in our EdM 516 class… thank you Prof. Gail and thank you classmates for your willingness to listen and also for sharing your thoughts and reflections.  -lilibethantoya

    Like

  10. Yes, Maam Gail. Thank you! Interconnectedness..We are gregarious by nature. We are not an isolated case. Each one has connections. We do not put premium important to material things. However, we take care of what God has entrusted us. We are here on Earth to take care of the things that we see. Since we are stewards of the Earth. We still care for Management despite of the transcience on Earth because we want to be the light to everyone whom we will manage someday. We are managers who can show the light. Inspire. Motivate. Uplift.Kudos to you and my classmates.

    Like

      1. Yes, Maam Gail. Thank you! Interconnectedness..We are gregarious by nature. We are not an isolated case. Each one has connections. We do not put premium important to material things. However, we take care of what God has entrusted us. We are here on Earth to take care of the things that we see. Since we are stewards of the Earth. We still care for Management despite of the transcience on Earth because we want to be the light to everyone whom we will manage someday. We are managers who can show the light. Inspire. Motivate. Uplift.Kudos to you and my classmates.

        Like

  11. Hi, Mam Gail! Very thankful ako to be a part of your class.. Attending your class is giving me more inspiration in pursuing my career in the teaching profession. Looking forward for more enlightening remarks from you.

    What symbolizes me? The clock symbolizes me because being a teacher at the age of 55, I have to learn more things about it. Why only now in teaching, is always the question everybody asks me. Yes, it is only now, that I understood the wish of my mother that I would be a teacher someday. It is somewhat called fate because I’ve been in different jobs and here I am now having a profession that at first is one that I don’t like most. This is because I know for a fact that being an educator is a never ending process of learning. It will require too much time and even at home you still bring the work that one should have only at his place of work. And that I don’t want to have. You have to learn and discover many things to be an effective teacher in a way that learning is not only based on the textbooks the children are using but also from the knowledge the teacher gets from other sources. How can you be a good educator if you don’t know how it is to become one. And being of age time is not a barrier for me in having the information I intend to get to be a good educator.

    This course School Plant and Property Management deals with the school that we teachers are rendering our services. Being a teacher, we also have a responsibility to the place of our work and that is, our school. Everything in school is an accountability of every personnel in the school including the teachers like us, most especially the property custodian and the teachers in the non-curricular positions. We, teachers, are accountable for the books, desks/armchairs, tables, chairs, cabinets, boards and other facilities inside the school. We are also responsible for the supervision of the pupils’ outlook in the use of the school property. If these children will learn and absorb what we taught on how to keep things right, then they will be responsible and committed persons as well. Thus, being a teacher is a commitment in moulding a competent , morally upright and well-rounded individuals.

    Like

  12. Everything we have do not belong to us. We are here to manage God’s resources for everyone’s benefit. As teachers, it is our duty and responsibility to make sure of the quality education for our beloved pupils. Giving them the quality they need is for their future and as of God’s plan. Everyone will gain from what they learn good from us.

    I know that I can never give what I do not have. I should know more about myself and share what I have received like knowledge and values being embedded in my everyday life. I really appreciate every activity we have before we start our class. It is an eye-opener to discern my purposes in life especially to my vocation. Recognizing my strengths and weaknesses will help me better to be a good servant to others especially to my children.

    Like

  13. The question was (though I am not so sure of): WHY DO WE TAKE CARE OF THE THINGS THAT DON’T ACTUALLY BELONGS TO US?
    “Sayang. I wasn’t able to watch the movie because of a task. Anyway, we take care of the things we do not actually belongs to us is because we are all created by only one entity. We are all INTERCONNECTED with each other. Because of this, we hold the idea that we are all custodians of the society, the government and the parents’ children.”
    The question actually gives us many answers and would lead to only one notion – CONNECTION. Things really connected with each other, be small or big, right or wrong, single-celled organism or not, we are all interconnected.
    Thank you for the EDM 516, Ma’am Gail. You really a knock-out punch to the contemporary way of how we would talk about things. I am really looking forward for a blast in this subject! Keep up the flame.

    Like

  14. Hi! Prof. Gail.  Just wanna let you know that I am very thankful for having me as one of your students in this course. Admittedly, Educational Management is not really my first choice. May be because I know I am not that competent enough since I was just new in the system and too young dealing with the boss’ stuffs…..”managing.” I really don’t know why am I here? What will I do here? Thought of wasting my time thriving for the 18 Saturdays of my life or just enjoying my every Saturday having a non-stop chat with my classmates….telling crazy things happening in the classroom and sharing where to get loans with the lowest interest rates, what credit card to get and what new sidelines we could take on. Still, I am here! Perhaps, I know there’s a certain reason what I am here for. After reading this post, the three questions in the end part of the blog kept running in my mind. I am here simply because…..I CARE……I care for my students and co-teachers, I care for the things and I care for the life. The life that I should have not been wasting time for this is because I know I would be able to know my genuine PURPOSE. .Oftentimes, I unconsciously care for others the way I have been cared for. As a teacher, I realized how the smallest gestures of mine can have a huge impact on my students. I remember… whenever one of my students was absent..automatically I handled my phone asking his parent why he wouldn’t be able to attend the class. The student felt being loved and telling his classmate how important he is in the class. As times go by…….I would know my other purposes. For now, I should have embraced the presence and appreciate every little things that come to my life. And being part of this course is a blessing in disguise. To know more my other purposes, to do what is the right thing to do and to see bright side in the teaching profession to enjoy life to the fullest. We are INTERCONNECTED! I live because I know for a fact that I am a blessing to others. You live because you are a blessing to me.  Thank you.

    Like

  15. At first, I thought that enrolling in Masteral class was only for formality sake but then when I attended this class I came to realize that I am special in my own simple way and I should be proud of my achievements. Also, I realized that I should not take anything and anybody for granted because somehow they are part of me and we are interconnected. Like my classmates here at EDM wherein we now belong to one family so I need to show them that I care at all times. Thanks to Ms. Gail and to my classmates for making me realize these stuffs and I hope to learn more and be inspired as we go on. Kuddos for you guys and God bless!

    Like

  16. Hi Prof. Gail…I really wanna thank you for being a part of your class. I really appreciate the way you handle us as your students. Pasensya na kung magulo kami ha…
    You know what, Mam Gail…hindi ako nagkamali ng pagpili ng symbol to perfectly describe myself as a person. I made some research about the circle I drew when we first met…
    According to some experts, here’s what they say:
    1. You are a people person, the shape with the most empathy, perception and consideration for the feelings of others. You listen and communicate well. You read people and can spot a phony right off. You like harmony and have your greatest difficulties in dealing with conflict and making unpopular decisions. You are easily swayed by other people’s feelings and opinions. You can be an effective manager in an egalitarian workplace, but have difficulty in political environments with a strong hierarchy. If you’re a woman, even if you’re not a circle, some circle traits have been conditioned into you.
    http://www.etals.com/pershape.html

    2. You’re a “people person” with lots of sympathy and consideration for others. You listen and communicate well and are very perceptive about feelings. You like harmony and hate making unpopular decisions.

    How to spot a circle: They’re friendly, nurturing, persuasive and generous. They tend to be relaxed and smile a lot. They’re talkative, but have a mellow voice. They also have a full laugh and love to touch others on the shoulder and arm.
    http://weeklyworldnews.com/headlines/14008/favorite-shape-reveals-personality/

    3. Circle The Circle is a symbol of harmony. Those who choose this shape are interested in good interpersonal relations. The highest value for the circle is people and their well being. This is the most benevolent of the five figures. The Circle is the glue that holds the team or the family together. They stabilize the group and have a high capacity for sympathy and empathy. Circles feel the pain and joy of others as their own. They are right-brain thinkers, not logical but creative and more emotionally charged. The processing of information in such people is not consistent and resembles a mosaic pattern. The main feature of their style of thinking is a focus on the subjective aspects of the problem.
    Read more at: http://www.learning-mind.com/geometric-shapes-simple-and-unusual-personality-test/

    4. A Circle is social and communicative. No hard edges. He handles things by talking about them and smoothing things out with everybody. Communication is the first priority, and making sure there is harmony. When given a task, he will talk about it.
    http://www.worldtrans.org/essay/symboltest.html

    This is me…This is really me…

    But if you remember what I exactly told you that very first day…A circle is a shape with no beginning nor end, like the things around us, they are not stopping, but they continuously changing, this shows that we have time to learn and to make some progress.

    Inside the circle is an empty space. The empty space I am reffering here is that I am missing something…something that can help me grow and develop as a better person pa…YOU AND I, TOGETHER, WE WILL FILL THIS EMPTINESS WITH YOUR IDEAS COMBINE WITH MY IDEAS. i THINK THAT IS A VERY GREAT DEAL BETWEEN THE TWO OF US. GOD BLESS!

    Like

  17. Life is a race if you’ll stop reaching your goals you’ll tremble. As espouse to that, our gift of life given by God is just borrowed. Everything you see in this world, is not inheritable and we do own nothing. We really need to manage our responsibilities in this world rightfully.
    Education is the bridge to a student’s future. In order to obtain that, we should know our purpose and how to discern the value of management. Provided them good quality of facilities and high standard of education accumulate their sense of appreciation. Collaboration of associates is very crucial for conservation of ideas in the accountability of better ongoing progress of understanding. “Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching (anonymous)” For that, thank you Ma’am Gail for letting us to be part of EDM 516.

    Like

  18. Life is a race if you’ll stop reaching your goals you’ll tremble. As espouse to that, our gift of life given by God is just borrowed. Everything you see in this world, is not inheritable and we do own nothing. We really need to manage our responsibilities in this world rightfully.
    Education is the bridge to a student’s future. In order to obtain that, we should know our purpose and how to discern the value of management. Provided them good quality of facilities and high standard of education accumulate their sense of appreciation. Collaboration of associates is very crucial for conservation of ideas in the accountability of better ongoing progress of understanding. “Never stop learning, because life never stops teaching (anonymous)” For that, thank you Ma’am Gail for letting us to be part of EDM 516.

    Like

  19. Hi mam..first of all, i want to commend on your hard work and dedication for this course its my first time doing this kind of stuff (blog,comment)but i do appreciate your purpose with this.. i am a person who really treasure every material things specially if this are the fruits of a hardwork,why i care for some one else possession? because im sure like mine a certain things can be from someone else (sweat and blood) only to put up or produce that ceratin things and i hate to see anythings not to be taken care off because i believed every single things serves an important role in our life with or without direct connections.
    To be successful DEDICATION.
    I’m looking forward to a world of discoveries and possibilities. i know we always live for something. and this course can just add up on that something that can be relevant to my life…HAVE A NICE DAY PROF GAIL.

    Like

  20. We are all part of the grand design laid out by the universe. All of our actions, thoughts and plans are in accordance with its course. We are but a speck of dust in the vast universe but our tiniest action is like a stone thrown in a pond that creates a ripple for eternity effecting every aspects of life. The concept therefore of interconnectedness is something that is innate in the natural cycle of life. If all human beings are linked by an invisible bond, then we should struggle to make an impact in every endeavors we do for what goes around comes around. As educators, the same challenge is imposed upon us- to make an impact to every learner we meet, to make a difference in the lives of our students.

    Like

  21. Everything and everyone in this world does not belong to anyone. Even the very life that we call our own is NOT OURS TO CLAIM. It is just ENTRUSTED to us. Entrusted does not mean OWNED because there is someone who rightfully owns everything. There is GOD. But isn’t it something to be grateful for that despite our unworthiness, God still finds favor in us enough to be entrusted with the very life that we have including the rest of his creation? He made as STEWARDS, and as such we have DOMINION over all his creation. Dominion does not mean using everything the way we want it. It is utilizing them according to their purpose with GREAT CARE AND RESPONSIBILITY. Why would we care for something which is not ours? We have to because IT IS NOT OURS! It is the only one that we have. We are accountable to God for whatever may happen. Being good steward is our way of thanking him for his LOVE. It is love that impelled him to provide us with everything that we need. Therefore we have to put all our cares to it. In doing so we participate in the CREATIVE and REDEMPTIVE work of God. When we are able to manage well what has been entrusted to us then we are worthy of helping others in putting their lives in proper order- that of our family members, students, colleagues, etc. So let us help each other MANAGE our lives and together grow to the very person that God wants us to be. thanks…

    Like

  22. Thanks for this amazing activity Ma’am Gail. This made me realize the importance of every “thing” and every “living” in this world. “INTERCONNECTEDNESS” is the definite term to answer the question about :WHY should CARE for something which is not OURS? INTERCONNECTEDNESS connotes that “NO ONE IS AN ISLAND”. We CARE because WE DREAM and LIVE”.

    Like

  23. The architect of our lives perfectly drawn every details of it. I do believe that everything in this world has a purpose to each other’s life. So, we must really care for everything in this world because it’s a gift to cherish. We only borrowed everything we have from God. We really don’t own any of this. But since it is created for us, we have to enjoy it not to destroy it for each of them interrelated are to each other. Destroying one of them might affect other aspect of it.

    Thank you so much Mam Gail!
    Hope you’ll be one of our professors this 2nd semester.

    Like

  24. The architect of our lives perfectly drawn every details of it. I do believe that everything in this world has a purpose to each other’s life. So, we must really care for everything in this world because it’s a gift to cherish. We only borrowed everything we have from God. We are really don’t own any of this. But since it is created for us, we have to enjoy it not to destroy it for each of them interrelated to each other. Destroying one of them might affect other aspect of it.
    Thank you Mam Gail!
    Hope you’ll be one of our professors this 2nd semester.

    Like

  25. Our subject “Managing School Plant and Property” is very familiar with me not just in theory but in practice. I have been doing this for 18 years throughout my 28 years in service. This task is not easy because our school is BIG – in population, land area (with 5 buildings and 149 rooms) and faculty/staff. Aside from managing and custodianship, are lots of paper works like reports, issuance,keeping and filing of documents. And most of all – the big responsibility and ACCOUNTABILITY that I have in my shoulder, There were times that I thought of quitting and going to teach again. So I prayed to God and asked if it’s His will for me. I asked signs and confirmation. I came to realized that God has a purpose.for me. He has plan for all of us, different from each other. So I continued doing my work and I enjoyed it. I learned to love it just like teaching.
    The school is not mine but I cared for it. It is always my concern for the efficient and effective management of it’s facilities, and sustain these facilities because they are vital component to quality education.These facilities are important in the promotion of efficient instructions as these are some of the factors that affect teaching-learning situation. Caring the facilities means caring also the students.
    All of these I can not do it alone, But God said in Philippians 4:13, “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”.
    So whatever task assigned to us, we must always remember His words in Colossians 3:23-24, “Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men. Knowing that from the Lord, you will receive the inheritance as your reward. You are serving the Lord Christ”.
    Thank you very much ma’am Gail. I hope to see you next semester.

    Like

Tell me what you think about this

