Could “they” have “you”?

 

canvas-of-society

The Canvas of Society by Joey Velasco in is just within our realms — a painter’s transformative journey through the children’s afflictions, desires, and deliverance from their circumstance that can reach across generations and cultures.

The likes of Nene, Itok,  Imong, Onse, Buknoy, Michael, Joyce, Tinay, Dudoy, Jun at Roselle & Sudan — 12 characters whose cries no one hears, whose scars are already in their being, whose eyes pierce through, whose minds are innocent yet vulnerable to get tempted by the needs unmet, whose character is subject to ridicule … have you ever asked yourself what you can do for them?

“baka may magawa ka pa!” 

The likes of them who have the ardent hope that “They have Jesus” — could be there just within the four corners of the classroom.  How could you give life to them? How could you reach out to that one soul who still wants to be complete despite being shattered? — that every single soul, longing for one who could listen and understand, who could give guidance and counsel?

What is your commitment then — to them, who are expecting to be noticed while you actually gaze at them in those corners of your eyes?

How could you help calm the storms that others have been through?  What could you do to help others’ life not to be wasted?

How much of yourself could you offer to address the needs of those eyes who need not speak?

How much of your time could you share to embrace the situation of those hearts which cannot feel that they are worthy of another’s love and attention?

I know you could be one’s source of hope. This may be the time that while you are challenged to scrutinize your students’ stories to be of significant help, you may as well WORK ON YOUR OWN STORY! For at the bottom of the line, you can never really share what you don’t have.

Let your story be that one which brings inspiration to other’s hopelessness. What you have at hand might just be those five loaves and two fishes — too little as it may seem, but as long as you give God your “Amen”, no amount of yourself will ever be too small. #sunset

 

 

31 thoughts on “Could “they” have “you”?”

    1. It’s painful and heavy to look at them in reality. Certainly, you can never really share what you don’t have so I always pray. It might be too little for others as they don’t see an outcome but He who guides me and leads me towards my purpose in life will surely stay with me as I commit to be the best I can be in my profession so I can do something, share something intangible and inspire our children. I am still working on my own story. So help me God.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. The story of this children is very common in our society from the past until today. There are a lot of reasons why this story are still existing in our society: one is corruption in our government, if the government officials are doing their job very well and spending the budget right, it will lessen the burden of this children. Two is parents who are in the low class family are not aware with their roles as parents/guardian. With all this issues or reasons, we know that we have solutions to ease the pain of this children. As a teacher/educator, we are one of their weapon to fight this problem in our society as long as we are dedicated in our job. I started already to make my job (teacher) to help my pupils to become more meaningful as early as 5 years.
    I just want to share my little things what I did for my past pupils and now, I had a routine in my class that I just sat with them listening to their conversations, playing and laugh with them,this routine catch my attention that my pupils are now easily make tell/told something with me, happy, what they like as they grow up, what they like with me or not, families and also sad story. After hearing all their stories, I know to my self what are the things I will do, what not to do and what are strategies/techniques that will help them to grow, enhance their abilities as this early age of their lifes. And I have an idea why this childs behaviour is like this, so I can make an right intervention.
    We teachers, GOD gave us two eyes to see/saw our little ones, who are they, who need more attention and who need help. Two ears to hear them, as what I am doing, I listening to their stories because with that we will know our solutions to thier situations. Big heart to make them feel love even we are not their family.
    Every child is unique, we need to RESPECT and LOVE them what ever they are.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Miko, thank you for your comment. ‘just that, i cannot view your facebook post here. you should go back daw to your facebook page and make your post “public”, then sa upper right choose “embed…” then copy the code, then post the code here 🙂
      OR, you may simply right click sa photo then choose “copy link address” then post it here

      Liked by 1 person

  2. #MYCOMMITMENT
    TO YOU
    I am a teacher I am here to guide
    I may not have everything but still I will provide
    To you my child when the hard days come
    In your crying and wailing, I’ll be caring and loving
    Hardheaded you might be, I will be patient to understand
    Make our school a better place, a place where you can proudly stand.
    To you my dear parents, I know your job is hard
    But rest assure all the things I say are true and doesn’t mean to ridicule
    I am here to help and not to discriminate
    All you have to do is be open and be willing to participate.
    To you my community, I know all of you can see
    Don’t be blinded and be accepting
    We have to face reality
    Open your mind and listen to what I say for the truth is
    We are part of the world where our children play.
    To you my Lord, my God these things you gave I commit myself
    Along this path, I may grow weary and scared
    But I know you will be with me and you will never get tired
    Continue to bless me and always be my guide.

    God bless us all ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My commitment to teaching covers a lot of goods and decisions. There is no work as hard as teaching..
    As a teacher and as a second parent of our pupils.We are responsible for the progress of our children, we give them special treatment none of them should be left behind. Help them to reach their goal and be successful in the the future.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Always be blessing to others, its not how expensive or how extravagant things youve shared but the thoughts that you givin in when you share or help. And sometimes simple hugs or smiles saying that you understand their situations will do, to lightened the hardships that they experienced.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I am a teacher of five years of age. Different stories come along the way. These stories tell who they are and where they come from. Different attitude and behavior are shown because of different situations they have been through.
    With all of these, I commit to enlighten child’s heart and mind. This is not limited to this but to teach them how to value life as well. Comfort them in times of loneliness and problems. Above all I commit to create an impact that will lead to positive changes.
    With God’s guidance, I know I will achieve all of these! God has given me a certain role and that is to give hope to every child I meet.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. As a teacher I have a big role in my pupils lives not only to teach the lesson everyday but to touch their lives each day. Teaching for me is a vocation that you can give your service wholeheartedly. To give yourself to your pupils you must know yourself first, because we cannot give what we dont have. Assess ourselves well. Know our strengths and weaknesses so that we can change to a better one. Last year I have a realization that for more than 10 years I am a teacher that is contented to just teach the lesson and an authoritarian teacher. Im thankful that I continued my masters and Prof. Gail inspired me to be a better teacher. Today I treat my pupils as my own children. I treat them equally and ready to listen as their second mother. These are my simple ways that I can do as a teacher to give hope to others.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. As a teacher I have a big role in my pupils lives not only to teach the lesson everyday but to touch their lives each day. Teaching for me is a vocation that you can give your service wholeheartedly. To give yourself to your pupils you must know yourself first, because we cannot give what we dont have. Assess ourselves well. Know our strengths and weaknesses so that we can change to a better one. Last year I have a realization that for more than 10 years I am a teacher that is contented to just teach the lesson and an authoritarian teacher. Im thankful that I continued my masters and Prof. Gail inspired me to be a better teacher. Today I treat my pupils as my own children. I treat them equally and ready to listen as their second mother. These are my simple ways that I can do as a teacher to give hope to others.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. T -each
    E-very pupil
    A- sk and give
    C-are,
    H-ope, and let us
    E-mbrace their
    R-eal life

    For me, we teacher our task is to teach and give knowledge, buts not the only thing, we must be more understand the every situation of our pupil. Let’s embrace their life. We must give them more attention, our ears to hear their problems and stories, our shoulder to cry on, our hands to help them, our eyes to look for them and most especially, lets give them our heart to LOVE them.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. As little as I am, these kind of problems in the society is too big for me to solve. But that is’nt the point. Little steps will take you to great places. If you start within yourself, you’ll be able to do greater things for others and it is the same when it comes to these children and to our society.
    One of the most noted job of a teacher is to mold these children to goodness. If we can be successful and achieve in this goal, there will be a time where no children will ever look for help.
    I commit myself to pour my whole being, as long as I am teaching and abled to that I will never neglect any student who may or may ot need any guidance from me.

    Like

Tell me what you think about this

